The historic riverfront city of Coimbra, Portugal is slated to hold the World Aquatics Women’s U20 Water Polo Championships 2023 from 2-10 September 2023. 

The capital city of Portugal’s central region, Coimbra has a youthful and sporty population aided by being home to the University of Coimbra.   

Image Source: Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

Three hundred emerging elite water polo players under the age of 20 representing 20 junior national teams will compete over nine days, with the winner taking home the world crown.

Portugal will host the biennial tournament for the third time, following the Madeiran city of Funchal hosting in 2019 and Porto holding the event in 2007. 

Image Source: World Aquatics

Portuguese Swimming Federation President Antonio da Silva expressed excitement about Coimbra’s selection to host the top women’s age-group water tournament again.

“Coimbra is preparing to welcome the World Water Polo elite in September. "Four years ago, Madeira hosted the World Women’s Junior Water Polo Championships with huge success, and our federation is looking forward to this new challenge. We have already started preparing to give the best conditions to the athletes visiting us later this year."

Spain enters as the defending tournament champions, having downed Greece 10-5 in the 2021 final played in Netanya, Israel, as Hungary completed the podium by toppling Italy, 12-10, in the bronze medal game.

At last year’s World Youth Water Polo Championships – where some of the top 18-and-under players gained experience for this year’s higher age-group event – the United States fended off Greece, 10-8, in the final. Spain won the bronze medal game, 9-5, over Italy to earn its place on the podium.

“We are delighted that Portugal will again host this championship event,” World Aquatics Technical Water Polo Chair Tamas Molnar said in announcing the event. “Portugal is a proud aquatics nation and we’re looking forward to returning. I am sure this will be another highly successful World Aquatics event that provides a vital stepping stone for players that we will see more and more of on the global stage.”

Previously known as the FINA World Women’s Junior Water Polo Championships, Perth (AUS) held the event’s first edition in 2001. Subsequent editions of the biennial tournament followed in Calgary (CAN) in 2003; Perth (AUS) again in 2005, Porto (POR) in 2007; Khanty-Mansiysk in 2009; Trieste (ITA) in 2001; Volos (GRE) for the three consecutive editions of 2013, 2015 and 2017; Funchal (POR) in 2019; and Netanya (ISR) in 2021.

Meet the Qualified Teams | World Aquatics Women’s U20 Water Polo Championships 2023


  • Spain
  • Hungary
  • Greece
  • Netherlands
  • Italy
  • France
  • Portugal
  • Israel


  • Japan
  • Uzbekistan
  • Kazakhstan
  • China
  • India


  • United States of America
  • Canada
  • Brazil
  • Chile


  • South Africa


  • Australia
  • New Zealand