World Aquatics, formerly known as the Fédération Internationale de Natation (FINA), is the sole and exclusive world governing body for all Aquatics.  Since June 2021, under the presidency of Captain Husain Al Musallam, World Aquatics comprises 209 National Member Federations in the five continents.

For the good of Aquatics and all Athletes, World Aquatics shall ensure that all Aquatics are governed, organised, developed and managed in accordance with the principles of democracy, right to equality, and no discrimination between any race, skin colour, gender, religion, sexual orientation, language, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth, disability or any other reason, neutrality, transparency, accountability, fairplay, inclusion, sportsmanship and clean sport.

Above all, Athletes are the central focus of World Aquatics' mission.

“Everyone in our community is proud of what FINA achieved in developing our sports. As we look to the future, World Aquatics will see all aquatics athletes united for the first time under one brand"
By World Aquatics President Captain Husain Al Musallam


World Aquatics new vision is "A world united by water, for health, life and sport"

and mission: "To ensure the ability to participate, compete in and benefit from aquatic sports"



World Aquatics oversees six aquatic sports:

  • Swimming 
  • Water Polo
  • Diving
  • Artistic Swimming 
  • Open Water Swimming 
  • High Diving


World Aquatics and its aquatic disciplines are also a pillar of the Olympic Movement and give a decisive contribution to the success of the Games. Swimming is part of the Olympic programme since 1896, Water Polo became the first team sport in the Games in 1900, and Diving made its appearance in 1904. Eighty years later, in 1984, Synchronised Swimming joined the Olympic “club”, while Marathon Swimming (10km race for men and women) is included in the Olympic programme since 2008


1908 - The “Fédération Internationale de Natation” (FINA) was founded in London July 19, 1908 during the Olympic Games in London (GBR). Eight national federations were responsible for the formation of FINA: Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary and Sweden. 

1912 - Women contest for the first time Aquatic events at the Stockholm (SWE) Olympic Games.

1922 - Johnny Weissmuller (USA) becomes the first man to swim the 100m free inside the minute (58.6).

1926 - Gertrude Ederle (USA) is the first woman to swim the English Channel, in a time two hours faster than the previous man’s record for this crossing.

1948 - Water Polo goes global at the London Olympics, with the participation of 18 teams from the five continents.

1956 - Butterfly swimming events make their entry at the Melbourne (AUS) Olympic Games.

1957 - World Records are only valid in metric measurements.

1964 - Dawn Fraser (AUS) completes her unprecedented “hat-trick” at the Tokyo Games: third consecutive Olympic victory in the 100m free.

1968 - Electronic timing makes its appearance at the Mexico City Olympics.

1972 - Mark Spitz (USA) is the first athlete ever to win seven gold medals (in Swimming) at one edition of the Olympics – in Munich (GER). All his victories were accompanied by World Records!

1973 - First FINA World Championships in Belgrade (YUG). Swimming, Water Polo, Diving and Synchronised Swimming are represented (Open Water Swimming is added to the programme in 1991)

1980 - Vladimir Salnikov (URS) is the first swimmer to break the 15-minute limit in the 1500m free: he clocks 14:58.27 for his Olympic title in Moscow.

1984 - Entry of Synchronised Swimming in the Olympic programme for the Los Angeles Games.

1986 - Opening of the first FINA permanent office in Lausanne (SUI).

1988 - Greg Louganis (USA) calls it a day after his fifth Olympic medal in a superb Diving career. He was also five times on a FINA World Championships’ podium.

1991 - Recognition of World Records in 25m-pools.

1992 - Barcelona (ESP) is the last Olympics of a great Swimming champion: Matt Biondi (USA) – 11 medals at the Games, and also 11 awards at FINA World Championships.

1993 - First edition of the FINA World Swimming Championships (25m) in Palma de Mallorca (ESP).

1996 - By many considered the best Water Polo player in history, Manuel Estiarte (ESP) wins gold at the Atlanta Games. He was present at six Olympics (1980-2000)!

2000 - Women’s Water Polo and Synchronised Diving enter the Olympic programme in Sydney (AUS).

2004 - Alexander Popov (RUS) leaves the pools following a successful career that includes nine Olympic medals and 11 awards at FINA World Championships.

2005 - The IOC confirms the inclusion of Marathon Swimming (10km) in the Olympic programme, from the 2008 Games in Beijing (CHN).

2008 - Michael Phelps (USA) surpasses Mark Spitz and becomes the only athlete in history to win eight gold medals at one edition of the Games, in Beijing (CHN). Four years later, at the conclusion of the London Games, he announces the end of his swimming career, with a total of 22 Olympic awards, including 18 gold – the best ever in Olympic history!

2010 - FINA organises the first edition of the FINA World Aquatics Convention in Punta del Este (URU).

2011 - Guo Jingjing (CHN) closes her brilliant Diving career, after six Olympic and 11 World medals. She remains the best female diver in history!

2012 - After the second edition in 2012 in Moscow (RUS), as a stand-alone event, the Convention is organised, from 2014 onwards, in conjunction with the FINA World Swimming Championships (25m).

2013 - High Diving is included for the first time in the programme of the FINA World Championships – in Barcelona (ESP).

2014 - Doha (QAT) receives the 12th edition of the FINA World Swimming Championships (25m), in a great Aquatic Festival, comprising also the FINA World Aquatics Convention, the FINA Swimming Coaches Golden Clinic, a FINA Extraordinary Congress, a "Soirée des Etolies" gala to honour the best athletes of the year, and a Swimming Youth Programme.

2015 - From July 24 to August 16, Kazan (RUS) staged for the first time in FINA's history, the FINA World Championships, immediately followed by the FINA World Masters Championships. At the elite competition, mixed events were held for the first time in Swimming, Diving and Synchronised Swimming.

2018 - FINA turned 110 years inaugurating new headquarters in Lausanne (SUI)

2021 - Captain Husain Al Musallam is elected FINA President in Doha during the FINA General Congress 2021

2022 - During the Extraordinary General Congress held in Melbourne, Australia, on the 12th December 2022, the Congress approves a new Constitution and vote the new name World Aquatics

Image Source: World Aquatics President and athletes present the new brand