The elections will take place during the 19th FINA World Championships Budapest 2022, which runs from 18 June to 3 July 2022 in the Hungarian capital city.

Voting for the five aquatics disciplines that are part of the 19th FINA World Championships – swimming, diving, water polo, artistic swimming, open water swimming – will happen via electronic balloting in Budapest. All athletes competing at the 19th FINA World Championships are eligible to vote.

The voting period for swimmers will run from 16-25 June. The voting period for the four other disciplines featured in Budapest will run from 16-28 June.

With the event discipline of high diving not on the 19th FINA World Championships competition schedule, the election for high diving athletes will take place with mail-in balloting. Every high diving athlete that competed in the 18th FINA World Championships 2019 may vote for their high diving athlete representative during the 2022 election.

The FINA Athletes’ Committee will be announced on 29 June during the special event to mark the occasion.  

Composition of the FINA Athletes’ Committee

Twenty athletes will be elected to the FINA Athletes’ Committee in Budapest. The FINA President will appoint six athletes to the committee in addition to six Honorary Members, with all presidential appointees subject to approval from the FINA Bureau.

Should an aquatics athlete be a member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Athletes’ Committee, they would also become part of the FINA Athletes’ Committee. Currently, Daniel Gyurta (swimming) of Hungary and Federica Pellegrini (swimming) of Italy were elected by their Olympic peers to IOC Athletes’ Committee. Both Gyurta and Pellegrini will join the FINA athlete collective to help ensure that the voice of athletes is represented at all decision-making levels within the sport’s global governing body.

Athlete Representatives Competed at Aquatics Sports’ Highest Levels 

All 29 candidates in the election have met the eligibility requirement of having competed at one of the previous two editions of the FINA World Championships (Gwangju 2019, Budapest 2017) or the Olympic Games (Tokyo 2020, Rio 2016), or will be competing at the upcoming 19th FINA World Championships.

List of Candidate Athletes



Therese Alshammar (SWE)

Katinka Hosszu (HUN)

Shane Ryan (IRL)

Nada Arakji (QAT)

Siobhan Haughey (HKG)
Dmitriy Balandin (KAZ)
Oceania Jessica Hansen (AUS) Ryan Pini (PNG)
Africa Lunkuse Jamila Nsibambi (UGA)  Matthew Sates (RSA)
Americas Alia Atkinson (JAM)  

Dylan Carter (TTO)         

 Jordy Groters (ARU)




Maria Polyakova (RUS)

Tingmao Shi (CHN)

Jack Laugher (GBR)      

 Rommel Pacheco Marrufo (MEX)                                               


Water Polo 

Margarita Plevritou (GRE)

Felipe Filipovic (SRB)

Josip Pavic (CRO)         

Felipe Perrone Rocha (ESP)

Robin Randall (CAN)         


Artistic Swimming

Saafan Nehal (EGY) Bill May (USA)


Open Water


Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA)

Caroline Jouisse (FRA)

Ferry Weertman (NED)                 


High Diving

Anna Bader (GER) Alain Kohl (LUX)