MELBOURNE – Following the Extraordinary General Congress held on the eve of the World Swimming Championships (25m) 2022, the new World Aquatics Bureau has been approved.

With the aim of increasing representation, the new Bureau has been expanded by 13 members. The new Bureau now consists of 39 members, including World Aquatics President Husain Al-Musallam.

The new Bureau came immediately after the federation’s National Members overwhelmingly voted (175-4-4) for a new constitution and rebrand to World Aquatics.

Building on the federation’s commitment to gender equality, nine of the thirteen new Bureau members are women. This addition has now brought the gender balance up to 38 percent female, with measures ensuring this proportion serves as a minimum for the Bureau’s future composition.  

“This is a big and significant step. Of course, there is more work to do; our target must be a 50-50 split,” said World Aquatics President Husain Al-Musallam during the Extraordinary General Congress. “Today’s vote brings us closer to this goal."

The new World Aquatics Bureau members are:


  • Vanja Udovičić (SRB)
  • Sarah Keane (IRL)
  • Otylia Jedrzejczak (POL)


  • Sirichai Distakul (THA)
  • Joo Hee Park (KOR)  
  • Tang Kwai Mae (MAS)


  • Maureen Croes (ARU)
  • Ana Joselina Fortin (HON)
  • Luiz Fernando Coelho De Oliveira (BRA)


  • Farida Iddriss (GHA)
  • Monica Chang’amamuno (MAW)
  • Yasser Mohamed Ibrahim Idris (EGY)


  • Judy Otto (PLW)