LAUSANNE – The FINA Artistic Swimming World Cup 2023 will feature four events, with the annual tour culminating with the Super Final.

As the FINA Artistic Swimming World Cup returns for its seventh season with the tour building up to the top aquatics event of 2023, the 20th FINA World Championships in Fukuoka, Japan with the following events:

  • 16-18 March – Markham (CAN)
  • 28-30 April – Cairo (EGY)
  • 5-7 May – Montpellier (FRA)
  • TBD – FINA Artistic Swimming World Cup 2023 Super Final

The 2023 tour begins in Markham, Canada, with a first-time FINA event host.

Image Source: Buda Mendes/Getty Images

Six-time FINA Artistic Swimming World Series gold medallist Kenzie Priddell of Canada expressed delight in hearing Markham was selected as host of the 2023 event opener.

“I am very excited to start off our competition season here in Canada. Our entire team is very much looking forward to experiencing the new scoring system that will be used internationally for the first time in Markham. It will be so special to perform in front of our family and friends and have the support of the home crowd cheering us on.”

Image Source: Eric Alonso/Getty Images

Following the event in east-central Canada, the 2023 tour then heads to Cairo, Egypt with the Egyptian capital having last hosted a FINA artistic swimming world cup event in 1987.

Image Source: Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

From Cairo, the 2023 Artistic Swimming tour heads to Montpellier, France. While the southern French city near the Mediterranean Sea is a first-time host of a FINA event, France is a mainstay on the sport’s international calendar with Paris having hosted the FINA Artistic Swimming World Series five times from 2017-2022.

Three-time FINA World Championship competitor Eve Planeix of France welcomes the artistic swimming world back to her home country.

Image Source: Matt Roberts/Getty Images

“It’s a huge pleasure to experience this wonderful event by your side. We are very much looking forward to sharing our sport's values. Welcome to France!”

Following the performances from the three opening FINA Artistic Swimming World Cup events, the top 12 in each event category will qualify for the Super Final at a date and location that FINA will announce later.

Image Source: Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images

Editor’s Note: The FINA Artistic Swimming World Cup was formerly known as the FINA Artistic Swimming World Series, which ran from 2017-2022. Before this, FINA held a single annual global artistic swimming event. This event was known as the FINA Synchro World Trophy from 2006-2016 and the FINA Synchronised Swimming World Cup from 1979-2014.