The United States of America are the new old winners of the FINA Women’s Water Polo World Cup-2018! In front of over 1500 thrilled fans in the Olymp swimming center of Surgut, they overpowered Russia by 8-5 to claim their fourth overall and third straight title. The hosts tried hard and were ready to accept the challenge, but could end no higher than adding another silver to their "silver and bronze" profile. 

Photo: Credit to UgraMegaSport

The 17th edition of the FINA Women’s Water Polo World Cup improved Australian tally to 12 pieces on their 5th bronze. They got on the podium through the consolation final against Spain, and captain Rowie Webster netted an impressive 5, 9-8. World#2 and European #3 trailed all the way up to the buzzer, but could not break up the flow and finished lowly fourth. 

Hardworking China and ambitious Canada played out the 5th position in the extended shoot-out, where Asians proved to have a better luck. The 7th placement went down to New Zealand, registering no major faults against South Africa, 14-3.

Photo: Credit to UgraMegaSport

Final placings:

1. USA

2. Russia

3. Australia

4. Spain

5. China

6. Canada

7. New Zealand

8. South Africa

Individual awards

Most valuable player: Margaret Steffens (USA), Best scorer: Anna Espar (ESP), Best goalkeeper: Asheligh Johnson (USA)

Competition results: Day 6, 9 September, 2018 / Finals

Match #21. 15:00 L17 – L18 NZL vs. RSA  14-3 (3-0, 1-0, 5-1, 5-2)

Match #22. 16:30 W17 – W18 СHN vs. CAN  20-19 (3-1, 4-3, 3-4, 0-2, penalty shoot-out 10-9)

Match #23. 18:00 L19 – L20 ESP vs. AUS  8-9 (0-2, 4-2, 2-3, 2-2)

Match #24. 19:30 W19 – W20 USA vs. RUS  8-5 (2-1, 3-1, 2-1, 1-2)