Today's Full Results

Australia's Kyle Chalmers third in a row world cup title bettered the Australian, Oceania and Commonwealth record enroute to a decisive victory over Vladimir Morozov  (RUS) and Sunwoo Hwang (KOR).  Chalmers's hammer down result of 45.03 was 1.28 faster than Morozov and 1.43 faster than Hwang.

The Australian champion won the Berlin edition in 45.73 defeating Jesse Puts by .79 and beat Morozov by .75 in Budapest.  Amaury Leveaux (FRA) established the world's fastest mark of 44.94 in 2009 and Morozov blazed to his fastest performance of 44.95 in 2018.  Ranked behind Chalmers swim in Doha tonight is Florent Manaudou (FRA) time of 45.04.  Americans Nathan Adrian and Caeleb Dressel have swum 45.05.  

Matthew Sates (RSA) impressive breaststroke leg was the key to winning his third consecutive title in the men's 200m individual medley.  Sates overcame a slight deficit behind Danas Rapsys (LTU) at the midpoint of the race but his back half overwhelmed Rapsys and third place finisher Yakov Toumarkin (ISR) this evening. 

Rapsys finished 1.97 seconds behind Sates and the Israeli swimmer touched 3.24 seconds behind the South African triple champion.  Rapsys and Toumarkin placed second and third in the respective Berlin and Budapest world cup events.  Sates 1:51.45 from the Berlin world cup remains his season's fastest time, fourth in the world this season, but remains the current World Junior Record.

Thirty-one year old Ranomi Kromowidjojo made it three in a row for Dutch victories tonight by winning the women's 50m butterfly in a time of 24.74.  Finishing in second and third were Australian swimmers Holly Barratt, 33 and Emma McKeon, 27 who finished .32 and .33 seconds behind the Dutch winner.  Kromowidjojo's time in Doha ties her 2018 performance that set the Dutch national record, and is the fastest performance in the world this season.  These three are the only women to swim faster than 25 seconds in this event this season. Soeun Jeong finished fourth but her 25.61 is a South Korean national record.

Seventeen year old Pieter Coetze (RSA) beat Szbestzian Szabo by .42 to win the men's 50m backstroke doubling down on his 200m backstroke victory yesterday. His winning time of 23.13 is the 8th fastest of the year. Szabo swam faster in front of his nation's fans two weeks ago in Budapest earning a bronze in that effort.  Youngjun Won (KOR) swam to earn a bronze in 23.70. 

Madison Wilson (AUS) raced to a 1:53.53, dominating the women's 200m freestyle in her fastest time of the world cup series in this event, also racing to the widest margin of victory, .97.  Katja Fain (SLO) swam 1:54.31, her second fastest of the three silver medal performances in the 2021 world cup series.  Annika Bruhn (GER) finished third, 2.75 seconds behind the Australian champion. 

Daiya Seto (JPN) won a decisive victory in the men's 200m butterfly.  His 1:49.76 was 3.30 seconds faster than Kregor Kirk (EST) and 3.35 faster than USA's Tom Shields who was coming off his victory in Budapest in a time of 1:51.58.  Chad LeClos was the winner in Berlin and held the previously fastest time in this season's world cup series, 1:50.32 until Seto bettered the mark.  Seto's fastest time of the fall season, 1:49.41, was set in Naples in September.  South Korea's Seungwoo Moon finished 5th but his time of 1:54.22 is a new national swimming record.  

Arno Kamminga (NED) and Peter Stevens (SLO) tied at 26.10 allowing the Dutch to celebrate back to back podium gold medals in the men's 50m breaststroke.  Kamminga still owns the fastest world cup time of the series, 26.00 from Berlin where he won the event and Stevens finished third.  Two weeks ago in Budapest it was Stevens who stood at the top of the podium while Kamminga, the silver medallist contemplated the .03 difference between the gold and silver medals. 

A collector of minor medals in this event, Fabian Schwingenschlogl (GER) earned a bronze medal by finishing .07 behind the Dutch champion and .04 off his fastest performance in Berlin.  The German swimmer finished second in his home country and was third in Budapest.  All three of the medallists hold national records in this event.


The other events

Yulia Efimova (RUS) cruised to victory in the women's 100m breaststroke winning her second breaststroke event in Doha.  The Russian champion's time of 1:06.08 is .84 faster than South Africa's Emily Visagie, but it's far from her personal best 2:02.91 set in 2016.  The winning times from Berlin, 1:04.44 and from Budapest, 1:04.71 are considerably faster.  

Hungary's Zsuzsanna Jakabos earned her second gold medal of the world cup series in the women's 400m Individual Medley.  Her time of 4:31.78 was more than 4 seconds faster than second place finisher Maria Ugolkova (SUI) who upgraded her bronze medal from Budapest despite her slower performance in Doha.  Jakabos swam faster than her second place finish in Budapest but not as fast as the 4:31.35 time she posted to win the Berlin edition.  Haeun Jung (KOR) finished third 5.75 seconds behind the winner. 

South Korea's Woomin Kim paced himself to a 14:44.48 in the men's 1500m Freestyle, beating Hungarian Akow Kalmar by 7.63 seconds;  Hojoon Lee (KOR) finished third more than 30 second behind the winner.  Germany's Florian Wellbrock, who did not compete in Doha, won the Berlin and Budapest editions swimming 14:35.23 and 14:42.70 respectively.   Kalmar was the silver medallist swimming in front of his home country fans two weeks ago in Budapest.

Kira Toussaint (NED) won her second consecutive title in the women's 100m backstroke beating Michele Coleman (SWE) by 1.44 seconds and outpacing Madison Wilson (AUS) by almost 3 seconds.  Toussaint's 55.79 was slightly off her 55.72 which ranks her second in the world this season.